Go Back   Two Wheel Fix > General > Off Topic

Old 07-18-2009, 02:55 PM   #1
Homeslice
Elitist

Moto: Gix 750
Question Question for the physics gurus

Does it take more energy to run a completely full refrigerator/freezer, compared to a nearly empty one? Or does the "coldness" stored inside the food help keep everything cool longer, thus saving power?

Last edited by Homeslice; 07-18-2009 at 02:57 PM..
Homeslice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 03:44 PM   #2
Tmall
Aspiring Rapper

Moto: '12 CB1000R

The only way I could see this working is this...

Heat goes from a high to low concentration. The more frozen things in there, the greater the ability for heat to be transferred.

I could see this cooling down the hotter object more quickly, but the heat still needs to be removed from the compartment.

I'm no thermo expert, but we did do a few weeks on heat transfer.
Tmall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-18-2009, 03:59 PM   #3
Adeptus_Minor
Hopster

Moto: 2009 Buell 1125R

First, a few assumptions:

1. No defroster
2. No kids opening the lid for a popsicle
3. No items in the full freezer that can generate heat
4. All items in the full freezer are already at the desired temperature when the experiment begins.
5. There are no air leaks once the door is closed.

Now, as Nick pointed out (I know you're Tmall now, but you'll always be NickName to me), heat moves from higher concentration to lower concentration.
Heat passes more quickly through solids and liquids than through gases.
The only way for heat to get into the freezer is through the walls.
If you have less in the freezer and there's an air space between the contents and the inner walls of the freezer, then heat conduction into the freezer should be slower than if you have solids against the inner walls of the freezer.