Go Back   Two Wheel Fix > General > Cage Hell

Old 12-20-2010, 01:09 PM   #1
dubbs
Multistrada

Default Subaru WRX STi vs Mitsu Lancer Evo X

I test drove the lancer yesterday and beat the piss out of a car w/ 30 miles on it honestly just to shut the dealer up.. Apparently he thinks how fast a car can go in a straight line sells the car for most people. I was looking for turns, i was in an area I didn't know and he wasn't helping to find any. But my thoughts after about 30 mins in the car.

It's my first time driving an AWD sports car.. Kinda cool, but you still get that Torque steer i remember from FWD cars. Don't really like that feeling. It's pretty fast, got loads of Torque, but the top end kinda lacks for me. (I like peaky top end power like my s2k) I have no idea how the car handles but there wasn't much body roll in the shitty turns i took. The ride is horrible.. seats are made to be in a full on race car and the clutch and shifting was strange. The clutch felt like nothing, no feel, light as a feather.. The shifting was very stiff, might be just because it's new.. idk but I did feel 3rd to be very notchy even during mild 4k+ shifts. The lack of a 6spd is also a let down (and i won't go near that auto-manual no clutch paddle shifting bull shit)

Car looks awesome in person. The one model was black, just looked mean..

As far as the Subie I have yet to drive it as they were really reluctant to let me take it out. I simply told the guy i can't buy a car i can't test drive and gave him my number and left. He called me today and said I can take it out but he needs my credit card, it can't be at night, and the salesman has to go with me. I work during the day so I guess I'll test it out after Xmas. I sat in it and the interior much nicer.. The seats seem like they would hold you fine and are yet still very comfortable. The clutch felt better and this model also had the short shifter which seemed to have more precise shifts than My S2K.. came out to $40k.